Open Letter to my Secret Crush

Gavin Jones
2 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

Open Letter to My Secret Crush

Dear Love,

They say confess. “Confess as if they’re your friend.” While my heart tells me that if I confess, nothing will happen, but everything will come to an end. They say confession is good for the soul, yet confessing these feelings is something I can’t control. So, I’ll just post it through these words. To this lucky person, I’m just going to say I like you. I… I really like you, simply because you are you. Your calmness, your voice, your introvertness, your actions, and the mystery in you make these feelings grow. I don’t know how to confront you, but at least through this open letter, I’ll spill out what I really feel. And if you’re reading this, I’m the man who secretly admires you. I like you, but it has grown into more than just likeness. I have fallen, I have deeply fallen in love with you, and only with you. I love you, but I am choosing to love you in silence. And as the great poet has written “I’ll just love you silently, for in silence I find no rejection. I choose to love you in loneliness, for in loneliness, no one owns you but me. I choose to adore you from a distance. Because distance will protect me from pain. I choose to kiss you in the wind, for the wind is gentler than my lips. I choose to hold you in my dreams. For in my dreams, you have no end.”.
But I do know this: I have feelings for you. Whether they be of infatuation or of actual love, what I do know for certain is that I want you.

--

--

Gavin Jones

Canadian based author and poet. I like to write short bio-fictional stories that challenges conventional views.